Selected Area Monitoring


Monitoring and evaluation of Commonwealth environmental water delivery is being undertaken at the following seven Selected Areas within the Murray-Darling Basin:

  • Gwydir river system
  • Lachlan river system
  • Murrumbidgee river system
  • Edward–Wakool river system                             
  • Goulburn River
  • Lower Murray River
  • Junction of the Warrego and Darling rivers

These seven monitoring sites were selected to provide maximum possible coverage of areas where Commonwealth environmental watering will occur and to complement, rather than duplicate, monitoring activities already being undertaken by others including Basin states and the Murray-Darling Basin Authority. The data collection at the Selected Areas commenced in 2014-15 and will continue until 2019. 

Use the map below to link to more information on each of the Selected Areas.